Councillor Tim Elstone has been elected Mayor of Wentworth Shire Council at Monday 10 January’s Ordinary Council Meeting.

Councillor Elstone, who had served as Deputy Mayor since 2016 under the Mayorship of first Melisa Hederics and then Susan Nichols, will be supported by new Councillor Daniel Linklater as his Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Elstone stood against fellow continuing Councillor Greg Evans for the Mayoral role, with Councillor Evans and former Mayor Susan Nichols the other nominations for Deputy Mayor.

“I look forward to this upcoming term as Mayor,” Councillor Elstone said.

“With some new faces on Council as well as some more experienced heads it is now time to get to business as we look to the future.”

“There are a lot of great projects in the works around Wentworth Shire and I can’t wait to see progress on those in the coming months as well as new projects and initiatives we will endorse as a Council.”

The new Wentworth Shire Council will consist of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor as well as Councillors Susan Nichols, Greg Evans, Steve Heywood, Peter Crisp, Jo Rodda, Brian Beaumont and Steve Cooper.

Councillor Elstone paid tribute to now former Councillors Don McKinnon and Peter Nunan (retired), Melisa Hederics (resigned), Bill Wheeldon and Jane MacAllister (not re-elected) for their service over the past term and beyond.

Mr Wheeldon had been a Councillor for the past 40 years, including a term as Mayor in 2015-16.

Mr McKinnon was elected to Council in 1987, became Shire President in 1991 and then Mayor in 1993 after the designation of the role changed with the Local Government Act 1993.

He resigned from Council after 11 consecutive terms as Mayor however later returned to Council and again held the Mayoral role from 2012-15.

Council will next meet on 31 January from 6.30pm at the Wentworth Shire Council Chambers.