New Citizens & Australia Day Award winners for 2024

Wentworth Shire Council has welcomed four new citizens to Australia and announced the Australia Day Award winners at their Ceremony held at the Coomealla Memorial Sporting Club in Dareton on Thursday 25 January 2024.

The Australia Day 2024 Awards had very worthy nominees, each of whom have made outstanding contributions to the community through volunteering, sports and culture.

Nominees for the Citizen of the Year award included Tony Bruce-Mullins, Andrew Cannard, Kay Lawrence, David McMillan, Margaret Morrison, Rodney Stone, David Tunkin, Robert Verstappen and Leah Williams.

Robert (Rob) Verstappen was named the 2024 Citizen of the Year for Wentworth Shire Council. Rob exemplifies unwavering dedication as a volunteer, generously contributing his time to various not-for-profit organizations and sporting clubs in the Wentworth Community, providing invaluable financial and accounting services. As the sole Chartered Accountant and Business Consultant with a physical storefront, he is frequently sought after for his professional expertise in conducting annual audits for the financial statements of numerous clubs and associations within the district. Currently holding the position of Honorary Treasurer for at least three community groups, including the Wentworth Tennis Club, Wentworth Regional Tourism Inc, and Wentworth District Community Medical Centre, Rob’s commitment extends beyond mere service; all his efforts for these organizations are provided pro bono, underscoring his profound dedication and support for the community.

Other award winners on the night included Logan Witte (Young Citizen of the Year) and Adel Green (Young Sportsperson of the Year).

Mayor Daniel Linklater also conferred citizenship on Mrs Kunnika Powel, Mr Rajbir Singh, Mr Daryl Thomsen and Mrs Joanna Vujevich.

Mayor of Wentworth Shire, Cr Daniel Linklater said “On behalf of the Wentworth Shire community, I extend a warm welcome to our new citizens joining the Wentworth Shire and Australia. Congratulations to the 2024 award winners and the well-deserving nominees. I appreciate those who dedicated time to submit commendable nominations. Furthermore, I express gratitude to Helen Dalton MP, Member for Murray and our Australia Day Ambassador, Mr Mike Goldman, for their participation in our celebrations. It was truly a pleasure to have them in Wentworth Shire.”